International English Language Competency Assessment (IELCA)

International English Language Competency Assessment (IELCA)

Key facts

CEFR level:

Test format:



Exam length:

B1 to C2

Computer or paper-based

Writing, Speaking, Reading and Listening

Academic & General Training

3 hours (approximately)

IELCA assesses four aspects of English language that include reading, listening, speaking, and writing and offers two routes: Academic and General Training. The Academic module assesses candidate ability to access undergraduate or postgraduate courses in educational institutions, colleges, and/or universities of English-speaking countries. The General Training assesses English language skills in a wide range of frameworks and is also appropriate for people who need English for use in secondary education for immigration purposes, work experience and other training purposes.

Both routes assess four components of the language ability, i.e. reading, listening, speaking and writing.

Who accepts IELCA?

Some examples are below:

  • Anglia Ruskin University
  • Bangor University
  • Brunel University
  • Coventry University
  • De Montfort University Leicester
  • Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Solent University
  • University of Bradford
  • University of East London
  • University of Greenwich
  • University of South Wales
  • University of Plymouth
  • University of Central Lancashire (UCLAN)
  • Maritime & Coastguard Agency, UK
  • Italian Ministry of Education (MIUR)
  • Malta Qualifications Recognition Information Centre (MQRIC)
  • Conferencia de Rectores de las Universidades Españolas (CRUE)
  • College of Europe
  • Toyota
  • DHL
  • KPMG